top of page

Peace Around the World. Friendships Across the Globe.


As I previously mentioned I have had the opportunity to travel to 71 countries, and have made multiple friendships along the way. I’m blessed to say I have friends in multiple countries such as Egypt, Portugal, Honduras, Russia, Japan, Canada, and many others. To Talk about a few long lasting meaningful friendships, first and foremost, my duo aerial partner and best friend, Jocka. By Fate we met in 2009 and immediately had a bonding chemistry despite our different cultures or views on life. We accepted each others differences, and continue to support and love each other to present day. Eight years of partnership/friendship we continue to care for one another even with the distance of living in two different countries. He has welcomed me into his home and country and I have done so in return. He's been there for me through both tough and happy times, Im so lucky we had the chance to connect in this life and share our passion of the stage together with many audiences around the world. For those of you that know me well Jocka is like family to me. This particular bond between two people is rare as well as something special and extraordinary.  

Along my travels I have also met other friends such as, Mohamed Fawzy, from Egypt. When visiting Alexandria, Egypt, just wandering down the street a gentleman stopped to speak with us and kindly asked if we would take a look at his jewelry store. He had a very genuine kindness about him that persuaded us to have a look at his shop, not necessarily expecting to make a purchase. He then showed us how he hand makes hieroglyphic pieces of Jewelry, watching him work his magic in front of us was an honor to see, he was indeed a hard worker. I then thought what a magnificent memory to take back home along with the newly established friendship. I watched him design and create a handmade original pendant made just for me, with my name in hieroglyphics. He did not just sell me a piece of jewelry that day, I left with the gift of his friendship. We spent sometime in the shop getting to know him and his family, he offered us apple tea and had the amazing opportunity to watch him make his art for us, we saw life through his eyes. We connected via Facebook and still until this day we continue to keep in contact. That specific day and memory has stuck with me through the years.

Another friend, who left an impression on my life through a lasting friendship was while visiting Rotaan, Honduras.  We visited weekly and would always go to the same beach, West Bay.  While sitting along the ocean with me feet in the sand a sweet little girl named, Kaylee, about 12 years old, approached me as she was selling bracelets. She first showed me them but did not speak, so I tried to communicate with her. Asking what is her name, if she made the bracelets, how much they were, and why she was not in school. She was hesitant to speak with me as she didn't speak much english, so I tried a few words in Spanish, (after she giggled at my attempt,) she then tried a few words in English. I did make a purchase that day, the asking price was for two bracelets, I insisted only one, I just wanted to give her something because she was so sweet. We also communicated half english/half spanish to meet at the same place the following week. Week after week we would meet at the same place, where she would greet me with a running hug! She helped me with my Spanish and I taught her more English, I’d share my lunch with her, and leave her some extra cash saying “I hope it goes towards your education, so you will be able to go to school soon,” and over those few weeks we created a beautiful friendship. She also had a younger sister Maria, these two sweet girls showed me life through their eyes. I do think about them often and although we do not have communication currently, I hope to go back to West bay Beach in Honduras sometime soon to see them again. If any of you visit, West Bay and see these girls (pictures attached) please give them my love! I believe God puts particular people in our lives for reasons, and I know we will meet again in the future. 

Each of these friendships have left a mark on my life, and these are just few that impacted my life along my travels. I could be here all day writing about memories I have shared with friends I have met, but My point of this blog is to show that no matter where we are from and despite our differences, friendship and love is possible if we welcome it into our lives. Friendships truly make life worth while, I’m so very blessed to have made so many friends around the world. Each and every one is special to me, and these connections around the world really changed my perspective on life. 

It is truly possible to care about others despite differences of religion, politics, cultures, etc. I wonder if more people around the world had this mentality of not judging but welcoming others with open arms and an open mind how much better our world would be, more love and less hate. I have made many friends along my travels with lots of differences but I love them all the same. I accept them for who they are and they have helped shaped me into the person I am, I would like to thank each and every friend of mine, for being apart of my life, you have helped show me the true meaning, and I hope to someday meet again.

"Love is the only force capable of transforming an enemy into a friend" ~Martin Luther King Jr.

Encouragement- If we met somewhere in the world, feel free to share that memory. Please leave me a comment, where we met and the memory we shared, it will be a great keep sake to look back in the future!  

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page