top of page

Rock of Gibraltar...Some Monkey Business!


Todays adventure is in The Port of Gibraltar. Gibraltar is a British overseas territory and located at the Southern tip of Iberian Peninsula, the landscape is dominate by the Rock of Gibraltar. Todays journey includes making my way to Gibraltar Nature Reserve, The Top of the Rock. Despite being called the “top of the rock,” it is actually the second highest peak of the rock at 1,352 feet above sea level. This was on my todo list not only because I heard about the magnificent views but also because I was looking forward to interact with the Barbary Macaque, the only wild monkey population in the European continent. There are a few ways to get to the top, choice one, the cable car which cost about 25 pounds round trip and about 6 minutes to arrive, with the possibility of delayed time from waiting in lines. Other options are to take a taxi or book a tour. I went with a group of 8 and it only cost me 15 pounds, which included the transportation and a tour guide. Once we arrived to Apes Den, midway up the rock, we were greeted by Cocoa, one of the apes, who willingly entered our driver side window to say hello! We were informed by our guide not to be alarmed or nervous that the moneys may jump on us, and also reminded us they are wild and to not pet or feed them. The human behavior of others feeding them has habituated the monkeys to behave in unnatural ways, causing them to learn other behaviors, like leaping on to shoulders and unzipping bags in search for food. Keep in mind this can be helpful and harmful, as they are very accustom to being around humans, but I also was a little nervous to see some fighting with each other, including some hissing and showing teeth, luckily not directed toward the tourists. (As I mentioned they are wild and there has been some other comments/stories with a different observation of how they can react.) I personally did not feel a threat as long as I was treating them as they deserve to be treated. These amazing monkeys are all different shapes and sizes, from the large dominant male to cute little babies, and all sizes in between. At first I wanted just to get close enough to observe them in their habitat and take some pictures, but then once I felt more comfortable I was hopeful one would come and sit on my shoulder, preferably a little baby, as I felt safer. I did get lucky enough, that a smaller one perched on my shoulder while a larger male sat by my feet, this made me a bit hesitant as I felt he was almost my size, but it was definitely and experience I will remember. Also a larger one used me as a stepping stone to leap from one side to the other, very unexpected, but glad I could help a friend out! Along with being able to spend time with these fascinating creatures I also had some time to take in the breath taking views from above! It was a wonderful day exploring The Rock of Gibraltar! I will be making one more stop in a few weeks, so please continue to follow my next journey, but for now I hope you enjoy some of the footage I captured of these beautiful Barbary Macaques.

The Courthouse of Gibraltar on Main Street

Beautiful Wisteria

Always find a telephone booth in the UK

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page