top of page

Malaga, Spain Adventures


Today's adventure takes place in the Port of Malaga, the 2nd largest port of Spain. Malaga is the capital city of Costa del Sol, which is the southern coast of Spain (Aka Sun Coast,) and is also the birthplace of Picasso, in 1881. It is rich in culture, modernity/historical monuments, and known for some amazing architecture, museums, food, nightlife, and beaches. This is one of my favorite destinations on this contract. There is so much to explore here, it is impossible to get bored, and also most of the exploring can be accomplished by foot, as multiple interests are located within close distance.

My journey today began walking along the coast of playa la Malagueta. This beach is a very relaxing place to enjoy your day, if you decide, with multiple shops and Restaurants nearby. I personally decided to venture to the city center to explore more of the culture/history, but I did enjoyed my little walk along the beach, with the breeze blowing through my hair and sun shining down on me. My first stop was The City Hall Building, Ayuntamiento, this building was completed in 1919 and has a beautiful garden along side. I wandered behind the building, which took me to the bottom of Alcazaba hilltop, a moorish-style medieval fortress, overlooking the sea. This walk uphill is rather enjoyable because of the mosaic stone walkways and lush fountain filled gardens, which leaves lots of opportunities for picturesque moments. Once I arrived to the top, I made a left, leading me to the center of the city and to my right was the Roman Theatre of Alcazaba, which of course was a must for a photo op. I continued my adventure by hiking to the top of Mount Gabralfaro and following the trails all around The Gabralfaro Castle (A historic landmark dating back to 14th century.) (It was quite entertaining because I caught myself wandering all around the outside of the huge castle, but couldn't find the entrance, luckily I was able to take in some beautiful views of the city, while trying to find the entrance.) Finally once I found the entrance of the castle, I also discovered one of the best picturesque view of the city, including sites of The plaza de toros (bullfighting stadium, that seats 14,000) and The Malaga Cathedral, as it is 430 feet above sea level. (Note- I did not enter inside the castle as my time was limited from searching for the entrance haha, but the pictures I took from the outlook was well worth the journey/strenuous hike up hill.) With the rest of my time in this city, I decided to wander around the City Center including stops at the University of Malaga, Picasso Plaza, Museum of Malaga, Picasso Museum, unclose view of Malaga Cathedral, Calle Larios (The main shopping Street), and wandered through the Spanish Alleyways full of many different shops. My day was certainly productive and I was able to see many beautiful sites along the way with the few hours I had in port, please check my video for some of the beauty.

Calle Santa Maria (Brick Moorish Style Architecture)

Calle Santa Maria (Brick Moorish Style Architecture)^

Jazz it up a bit Graffiti

Fell in love with this building (Spa)

Iglesia del Sagrado Corazón

Bought a new Hat at SRTA, White Shop Boutique

Orange Trees outside of

Abrazame= Embrace (Hug)

Looking for a place to eat=> BRUNCH IT

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page